Amanda Protain for October 24

For our first assignment, the mini zines turned out to be a rewarding experience. My expectations changed once the design aspect came to life. Coming up with ideas were much easier than putting together a small piece that should be visually engaging and also easy to read. I mostly had trouble with printing the double-sided layout. Multiple pages were wasted during the test run until I was satisfied. The ending result of my zine was on a scale of 6/10.

Overall, my classmates did a great job. Each one was different and had its own tone. One of my favorites were “The Space Adventure.” I overheard that the artist hand drew all of his illustrations, which was produced differently from others. The type treatment worked well and the typeface of choice fits the subject. Some illustrations were designed as a spread to continue on going action which framed the text copy perfectly.

For my project, I would change the amount of imagery used. I wanted mine to portray a digital version of a collage, but product details would have been left out if I decided to overlap most of the images. The body copy was big enough for legibility, but it would of have been better if I made the font size 9 pts or 10 pts. Decreasing the margins for my documents would have a better result as well. This will allow my text to be more centered and away from the edges during the cutting process.

Leave a comment