Evelyn for October 24

The Zines we’ve created in class was a fun experience and a bit of a challenge. It was an interesting experience because I’ve never done that before and we were able to create anything we wanted so I know for that that it was pretty easy. The complicated part was at the end when we had to set up the pages correctly so when it gets printed the pages could be set up correctly in the order they’re suppose to be. I enjoyed doing this project because I was able to design it any way I wanted. For my zine I decided to use sign language and emotion. For my design i decided to put them together, each emotion was spelled in sign language and the background was the color that matched with each emotion. The only challenge I had was at the end when I had to set up the pages correctly, I found that mine was a bit more complicated because I decided to do mine horizontal. Overall, I was happy with the outcome of my zine I just think it could’ve come out better.

As i flipped through my classmates zines I found that most of them did grab my attention. Each and every one had it’s own unique design and humor. A lot of them were interesting because I felt like I could relate to them and it showed me that I am not the only one that sees the things other people see. Also, most of them did work because they had great concepts. There were a few that did give me ideas, such as maybe adding more design to my zine because I feel like it was a bit too plain or also make it more creative and move things around. I was able to identify trends and recruit motifs while looking at the entire group. Something I would do differently if I was asked to do this project again would be to make it more interesting, add more design and just be more creative.

Leave a comment