Ashley warner for December 19th

For our final project I worked in a group with Karen and Calvin. At first it was difficult to come up with an idea, we brainstormed together and came up with a few but we all agreed it would be great to do our book on the events of 2016. We tried thinking of a title but decided it was best to come up with it after we finished the other pages. This worked out well because once we saw all our contributions as a whole the title tied it together.

Originally we were going to use actual imagery for each event and edit them. After speaking with the professor he gave us the idea too try doing our own sketches. We thought that would be way more interesting and unique. We wrote out a list of things we thought were the most memorable and important events of 2016 and divided them into 6 each. We did our sketches and colored them in on photoshop and then came up with our captions, fonts and sizing. Overall our sketches blended well with each other and was visually very interesting.

What I gained from this project was being reminded of the things that happened in 2016 and touching up on my drawing. I used to draw more often but find myself not doing it anymore so this was great for me. What I would change if I did this project again would be to add in more events and make the book longer. Also change the order of the images. We realized after we sent our document to print that the one spread we had should have fell on a different page.

Our finished product came out really good. We used MagCloud and followed their specs for print through their website. The cost for the print was really cheap and we paid for express shipping. In total we paid about $7.50 each. We chose to do a saddle stitch book with glossy paper. They produced it perfectly, nothing was cut off and we were nervous about the numbers being too close to the bottom, so I’m happy about that. Overall I’m satisfied with the way our book came out and I enjoyed working on it with my group. I know that other people will find it interesting and in some parts amusing. They will either be reminded or informed about the events that happened this year.

Thank you professor for a great class! I enjoyed each project and now I have three books with my name on it 🙂

Leave a comment