Mario P. For December 19th

For our final project I worked along with Brianna and Valentina. To me this was the easiest of all just because we all shared the same idea. We were looking for something not too complicated since we have other projects to work on, I personally wanted something simple and was glad we all wanted something to do with photography. Valentina suggested it should be about NYC, and Brianna came up with what I thought was the best name we could go with; Our NYC. We decided to use our own photography of places in New York. I already had a good set of photos from my photography class which again helped making this project easier to do. After Valentina arranged everyone’s photos, I did the text. I used Avenir for the font for both headlines and our thoughts about each photograph.

I chose that font because it is elegant, easy to read and doesn’t distract the viewer from the main point which is the photograph itself. Afterwards uploaded the file to google drive, it is how we kept all the files organized and available for each other since we couldn’t meet and work on it outside the class. That was our only challenge other than finding the right printing place. Brianna took care of the cover, intro and proofreading. We were done with it and just worried about getting it sent for print which Valentina did. I haven’t seen the book but she said it looks really nice. It is a 8.5 x 5.5 landscape photo book, we sent it to Magcloud—at first we were going to do perfect bound—but then we decided saddle-stitch would be better for this publication.

Finally, I didn’t learn new things, was more like putting into practice what I have learn in this and other classes. The structure, text placement, font of choice, the colors and how it all works together. Also how easy work can be when done in a group that want the same results as you do therefore we all work and try to not let one do more than the other. I think that’s important and with that I believe it is safe to say I wouldn’t change anything we did. We did what we all agreed on doing and everything came out as we planned.  

Leave a comment